Welcome to Ripplevale

In August 2009 my mate Craig and I decided to take the plunge and have a crack at “living the dream”. Seperately, we’d both wanted a place in the country for years, but it had never happened for either of us. But when we stumbled across the 2 acre site of the old Ripplevale Primary School in the little town of Birregurra in the Lorne hinterland it was pretty hard to resist. All the hard work had been done for us. The previous owners Graham and Jill had planted a beautiful garden and built an amazing house. We just had to move in and start exploring the Otways and the surf coast…This blog is to capture and share our experiences…

All pretty happy with the view to the north west towards Mt Gellibrand in Spring…

2 responses to “Welcome to Ripplevale

  1. Hi There,
    I just stumbled across your site. Ripplevale has been on my my mind quiet a bit lately. I grew up in Conns Lane with my three sisters and brother. We all attended Ripplevale primary school. We grew up at Barwon Meadows right on the river. Sadly when one of my older sisters whent to secondary school the numbers dropped below 7 and the education dept closed the school. I think i was in around grade three. I have so many fond memories of that beautiful school and the lovely surroundings. Making daisy chains in the long grass and playing sports. I’m actually going to heas out to Swan Marsh where the old Ripplevale school is now located. After they shut the school down my sisters, brother and i use to sneak in there and rollerskate (the good old 70’s) Anyway hope i havnt bored you to tears. Michelle Neal (was Moloney)

  2. Hi Michelle,
    Thanks for getting in touch with us. Great to hear from you! We’ve totally fallen in love with the place and would love to hear more stories about it. We would love to have you round one time and hear more. Pls feel free to give us a call on 0407 846 965 when it suits you…

Leave a Reply

